First Day on a New Job …

After 7 years, 7 months and some days of coming to Canada, and after 7 years, 4 months of working with the House of Commons, today is my first day in the Day shift, working Monday to Friday, 9 to 5.

When I began with the HoC, I was employed in the Night Shift, beginning at 10:30 pm, finishing at 8:30 am, I did that for 2 years.

Then I won a competition for a position in the Evening Shift, beginning at 2:00 pm and finishing at midnight, I did that for 5 years (wow!)

Now I am on the Day Shift, and so far … I get motion sickness in the bus (or Germ Wagon, thanks Loup), I have no office to work, and apparently there is the rumour that I am going to be in charge of a very important tool that needs to be domesticated, System Center Opearations Manager from Microsoft.  The instructions are very thick books … like three or four, plus all the documentation on line. 🙂

As I said, I will make it sing … or kick it a couple of times.  Let’s hope it’s the first one.

2 Replies to “First Day on a New Job …”

Leave a Reply

